Genotrance

Icon

Random thoughts, ideas and experiences

Twitter – I finally get it

Some of you may have noticed the Twitter feed on the right. This is a brand new, albeit late in early adopter terms, addition to my online life. For the longest time, I really wondered what the whole point of Twitter was. People just went on and on about the phenomenon and I never quite got it. Why on earth would anyone be interested in being notified about what I am up to, every moment of my life?

Well, I finally figured out how Twitter applies to me. I will tweet every time I have something to report on when I am programming or dealing with technical issues, pretty much the same theme as this blog. None of the personal, “I’m driving to work”, kinds of tweets, only stuff that may prove useful for someone out there. The feed on the right will help keep everything I report, posts and tweets alike, in one place.

The reason I blog, and also tweet, is not to address a captive audience on a common topic, but just to post searchable information to the web for anyone who is encountering similar situations. It gives me the satisfaction that I am contributing to the community in some way. Majority of the hits on this blog are from Google and other search engines convincing me that reality aligns with my intentions. The effort is well worth it.

It is much easier to tweet than to blog since the message size is so much smaller. Being the kind of writer who obsesses over every sentence twenty times before posting, it takes me a long time to get posts out. It also discourages me from posting often enough. Twitter will provide the avenue to report frequently, since I am always up to something but seldom have the time to type out detailed posts.

While long consolidated posts on this blog will continue to appear, there will be several smaller issues reported in tweets, as and when things surface. As a result, a lot more of my experiences will get logged unlike on the blog where only big things make it, several days/weeks later. It will also give you a glimpse into what goes on in between all these blog posts.

Filed under: Blog Update

4 Responses

  1. […] is going on as far as programming and technology is concerned. I have discussed this a bit on my personal blog. The account is generic and I plan on using it for all my programming adventures but it will help […]

  2. Nigel Dunn says:

    I am just having my mind changed about Twitter too. After posting that I didn’t get suddenly I get a windfall of ideas from people like yourself that really opened my eyes. I’m now a paid Tweeter.

    Pity about the name though!

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Cybernetician!!

  4. Hi,

    Thanks for ur post.. now i cnaged my profile as paid user…..

Leave a comment